Wet Again!

Howdie folks!

Yep it’s that time of the year. Zoot Allures is back in the water! This is my 6th season. You’d think I’d be used to this stuff, but I’m not. It always seems like the first time except for the procedure. It’s tiring as hell.

The previous weekend was the last rap. Most of the lingering projects were stuffed away and launch mode was set in place. On Wednesday I blasted out of work and painted the antifoul. Friday night the last prep was done… take off photovoltaic panels, clears decks, sort lines etc. Saturday morning Giannis and I launched with Giannis first. He had his sons to help and I had a colleague, George, come over to watch with his grandsons and camera. All photos are credited to George… a.k.a Mastoras! Another important note… it was partly cloudy. If it had been sunny, we would have died from exposure. I know I would have.

So the truck pulled in and away we go. Strap her up and step aside.

Once on the truck, I gotta sand and paint where the supports were and under the keel while the mast was raised onto the deck. Plus we took the windvane off.

A tight squeeze out of the yard and off to port. And ol’ Zoot is wet again.

By now the grandsons had gotten bored so George took off and there are not photos of the mast-ing. Whatever. After that we went for a few beers and food! The next couple of dayz were putting Zoot Allures back together again. The last day I motored away from the dirty noisy harbor to my nice quiet mooring. The ball had sunk so I anchored, dove in, retrieved the mooring lines and tied up. Then washed the decks with about 20 buckets of sea water… those mooring lines get really gooky  and gooey over the winter and …… that’s it! I was totally spent! But boy, it felt soooo good to be back!

Stay tuned and gooeyless,

Capt Pete.

ps…. I don’t really have anything to add here. But one thing did cross my mind. Paula over the winter said  after my whining about my dead boat, is that it’s a dream killer. And so true. Now I can dream again. !! 🙂

 

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wet Again!

  1. Vince says:

    Good lookin boat ya got there, son.

    Like

  2. A whole lot of action going on there.
    In a way, splashing a boat every year is like starting anew…feeling the excitement all over again. A toast to a new season of adventures (hopefully more fun stuff and less fixing!).

    Like

  3. arcady001 says:

    Ha! You beat me by four days! But well done – I know exactly what you mean about being able to dream again when the boat is back in the water. SOHVI launched on Wednesday and we put the rig up today. Just in time – tomorrow we have guests arriving 🙂

    Like

  4. arcady001 says:

    At least your crane operator uses spreaders to prevent crushing the bulwarks. No one on this island seems to bother with spreaders – I have to use padded blocks of wood between the lifting strops and rubbing strake to avoid damaging the caprail 😦

    Like

    • My first launch had no spreaders and yes, the bulwark wood got crushed. I almost cried. I left like that for 3 years as a reminder. I fixed them last year. This year one broke, not from the lack of spreaders but from strapping the boat to the truck. Very discouraging. Ce la vi!

      Like

  5. Ellen says:

    Zoot must be so happy to back in the water again 🙂 Have a great season!

    Like

  6. Marc Prufer says:

    Cheers Captain Pete! Cheers to a wet Zoot!

    Like

  7. arcady001 says:

    Correct!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

