Doodling…

HeyO!

Doodling…. not that I have a pen in hand…. but after some searching I came up with a better explanation.

“early 17th century (originally as a noun denoting a fool, later as a verb in the sense ‘make a fool of, cheat’): from Low German dudeltopf, dudeldopp ‘simpleton’. ”

dsc01730dsc01728Why you ask. Same old reason. Work and cold. Like, when I got down to ol’ Zoot I found some ice in my bucket. Yes, I acknowledge it colder elsewhere but you guys have better heat sources (a.k.a more money) to recover to. But this old whine is boring me too.

But that doesn’t mean there hasn’t been a bit of winter mayhem on Zoot Allures.

dsc01726One is that I pulled the SERCK heat exchanger. Four years ago it was almost holed from electrolysis and repaired. I’ll feel better if I know it’s still ok. The one thing that puzzles me is that the plumbing. My setup is the that coolant passes around the tubes flowing the sea water. Isn’t it supposed to be the other way around? The pencil zinc seems to think so.

dsc01727dsc01724The real mayhem in my eyes is the electrics “clean up” with the help of Kostas. It would be nice, let alone prudent, to know what goes where and why. Apparently the negative common buss is a bolt with everything on it and the whole spaghetti mess behind the panel makes my stomach turn. It’s gonna be an on going “thing”. While I had Kostas aboard, I had him check out the shaft break installation… in his re-occuring position.

A nice highlight is a belated xmas present from Sis.

dsc01733YAY! I’ve read quite a few Sterling Hayden quotes before  but I never knew the story behind him. One hellava character! There’s some old interviews of him on youtube that are priceless.

This is gonna be a “way cool” reading!

Stay tuned… and since it’s cold… read a book!

Capt Pete.

ps…. in a nutshell……………

“To be truly challenging, a voyage, like a life, must rest on a firm foundation of financial unrest. Otherwise, you are doomed to a routine traverse, the kind known to yachtsmen who play with their boats at sea… “cruising” it is called. Voyaging belongs to seamen, and to the wanderers of the world who cannot, or will not, fit in. If you are contemplating a voyage and you have the means, abandon the venture until your fortunes change. Only then will you know what the sea is all about.

“I’ve always wanted to sail to the south seas, but I can’t afford it.” What these men can’t afford is not to go. They are enmeshed in the cancerous discipline of “security.” And in the worship of security we fling our lives beneath the wheels of routine – and before we know it our lives are gone.

What does a man need – really need? A few pounds of food each day, heat and shelter, six feet to lie down in – and some form of working activity that will yield a sense of accomplishment. That’s all – in the material sense, and we know it. But we are brainwashed by our economic system until we end up in a tomb beneath a pyramid of time payments, mortgages, preposterous gadgetry, playthings that divert our attention for the sheer idiocy of the charade.

The years thunder by, The dreams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience. Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer? In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life? ”
― Sterling Hayden, Wanderer

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doodling…

  1. arcady001 says:

    Hi Pete,

    “The whole spaghetti mess behind the panel” …

    … That’s a phrase I know perfectly! Coincidentally I have just had my electrical panel in pieces on SOVHI during the last few days. See my recent post here: https://fjordms33.wordpress.com/2017/01/30/sohvi-serial-processing-in-a-parallel-universe/

    It’s not as daunting as it looks. Take all the spurious stuff out and bring the fuses/circuit breakers to the front panel. It’s so much easier afterwards to reset any faulty circuits.

    As to your heat exchanger – every boat I’ve had has the fresh water coolant surrounding the stack of thin tubes in the heater exchanger. The seawater goes through those thin tubes. I think yours is OK as you describe it 🙂

    K.

    Like

  2. Matt says:

    It’s been an absolutely brutal winter. Not just cold, but long too. It really saps your will to do anything on the boat (or in life – most days I just read in bed after work!)

    Like

  3. Long time ago I read Wanderer at least twice, plus his following work of fiction. Another character I can blame for my lack of respect for “ordinary life” and also probably for having bought an oversized boat. Great post, by the way. And another thing, the Tourism Ministry migh arrest you for telling everyone how cold it is in Greece in winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

