Peace Out!

Well, well, well (Willie fell in the well).

Here I am again. I’m not here to shock you, but to admit that I’m not much of a blogger…. as if you haven’t already figured that one out. It’s been a ridiculous month for normal and abnormal reasons. Last week for instance. Obama was in town for 2 days plus the national celebration of Molotov cocktails remembering the Polytechnic U. up-rise against the dictatorship in 1973. Living in Athens is a trip!

20161103_15354120161103_153533I tried to spend the weekends on Zoot Allures absorbing the reality of the surroundings and got my last swims before my annual haul out. It has20161030_122309 been quit beautiful but between working too much and the days getting shorter, the nights colder (hot water bottles rule!) absorption has be limited and scarce. Plus getting ready to haul out is a drag…. My windvane weighs a ton!

dsc01648The afternoon before the “crane date”, I let go of my mooring and ghost sailed @1knot to the harbor and side docked. Final preps where done (sail removal, disconnecting mast cables etc)… it’s become a normal procedure.

dsc_0373dsc01651The next day, the haul out went just fine but the anxiety always remains the same. Not to mention the body fatigue. My knees hate me and ol’ Zoot! Now Zoot Allures is resting and drying out. And just in time cause the weather got foul. Now it’s time to sleep and not worry about what’s going on in my absence.dsc_0372 Now I’m having nightmares about the whole American phenomena. Sleep, dear Zoot, and rest….. the way things are going (Trumps election and the televised ridicule of the GR government hosting Obama’s visit) we might have to sail away next year!

dsc01654dsc01656On the lighter side, that weekend I did a first. I washed down the genoa sail at G.S.’s house. All you need is water, a hose, a bunch of long ropes, a roof and an empty swimming pool!

Other news totally un-related to the purpose of the blog….

A)… The classic Marathon was held on a beautiful Sunday and ma Bro ran and finish his 4th Marathon in just over 4 hours!

B)…. Kostas launched his boat!

dsc01657

Unfortunately I missed all the fun… working. Something’s gotta change!

Stay tuned,

Capt Pete.

ps… and by change, I didn’t mean Trump! God (or somebody) help us!

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Peace Out!

  1. It’s so interesting to read about how people in other countries are reacting to the US election and their views on what a Trump administration may mean to the rest of the world. Crazy times we live in.

    Like

  2. Matt says:

    I live and die by my hot water bottle at this time of year, for sure.

    Like

  3. Lot’s of interesting stuff, particularly the washing the sail in the pool trick. Kostas’ boat looks like it’d be a riot to sail. As for blogging quality trumps (no pun intended) quantity any time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

