Whether the Weather…

The climate is made up of “weather”; whether it is nice out depends on whether it is raining or not.“… googles words, not mine (for shame!)

Whatever! (which is a polite way to say “I don’t give a shit!”)

screenshot_2016-08-27-10-49-26What I’m trying to get at is….. that this summer didn’t go particularly the way I expected. It blew alot, and I mean alot! It wouldn’t drop under 20kts for days. Just the sound of the wind is enough to drive you nuts on a 24hr basis. And heading out sailing just seems more like a hassle than anything else. I’ve got a new weather app, windyty, which is alot of fun to play with when you’re crying, rocking and rolling on my mooring…. for a full week! Last Monday it was time to go back to work. And guess what? The wind stopped!! How do you like them apples?!!?  So, just like a boring cocktail party, lets talk about the weather, whether you like it or not. But just a bit cause that gets boring too.

For starters, ol’ Zoot Allures is (exteriorly) a mess! There’s a hill which somewhat protects my mooring area and the dust and dirt blowing off of it has rendered the mast and all the standing and running rigging to a brownish…. I’ll just say I have to wash my hands after touching them.  Check this out!

dsc01602And that’s only 2 days worth. Since I don’t like docking, I carry my water in 20lit jerrycans and try to keep up with the PV panels and certain fixtures (and myself), but I’m loosing the battle! The decks, I wash down with salt water. Ol’ Zoot hasn’t been washed down with fresh water since the beginning of …June! Because it hasn’t rained… since June! I’ve seen a few squalls pass by but they always miss. Have you ever heard of a sailor praying for a squall?!?! Jeeeez!

dsc01605dsc01606And since it doesn’t rain, that means there aren’t any clouds either. And the August sun here is absolutely brutal. Try setting up an awning for shade when it won’t stop blowing 20+. So as you can see, I have to make new winch covers, which isn’t a bad thing cause I wasn’t to proud of them anyway.

dsc0160020160826_154758I am proud of my dinghy cover! It’s not done yet, I just cut holes for the seat and oar locks and fasteners to be finished at a later date. At least the Cosa dink will have a better chance than my other “sinking deflatable”. I’ve got it back home and have spent 3 afternoons and a bottle of dish detergent trying to find a hole. I’m about to declare it dead. 2 days after inflating, it looks like a “Limp Bizkit“.

Did you know they re-opened the 2000 year old ancient weather station in Athens? Check it out.

Hmmm…. something fishy is going on!

So whether you like the weather or not, as they say in Boston….”wait, it’ll change”!

Guess what……… it’s raining!!

Stay tuned,

Capt Pete

ps… speaking of fishy… when I got back from Nafplio I found about 20 smelly sardines on deck. Hows that for windy?!

 

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whether the Weather…

  1. Schimek Hanna says:

    Thalassa landasmeni de ginete. Sincerely yours Poseidononnaki sas

    Like

  2. Schimek Hanna says:

    λανθασμένη = mistaken or wrong
    my gearest käp´t of all thalassas ston kosmos > poseidonaki sas
    Isterografo: efarifto! eimai perifanos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Schimek Hanna says:

    ssssss !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. horaciomateus says:

    Being stuck on a simmering hot “yacht” without a bimini is glamorous for about 5 minutes.
    Too hot to hang out, too windy to go sailing (or no wind). I know what you mean about never-ending wind driving one nuts. Not too windy in the Algarve this year, but it was hot. My solution: go ashore to a shady café for a frosty 1-euro beer; go for a walk, work up a thirst and return to the café for another beer. Repeat as necessary.

    Like

    • 1 euro beer?? Man, I gotta sail out there one day! Haven’t got that option here, but I got 1/2 euro frosty ones aboard (yes, miraculously my fridge still works!), swim instead of walking… and repeat out of spite! When it blows it’s actually cool down below with the front hatch open funneling a ton. Just a bit funky boarding a rocking/anchor-sailing whale!

      Like

Leave a Reply

