Power Shoppin’!

Whoops! I did it again!

La la la!

Yeah, I know. I haven’t been blogging for shit. Usual excuses…. pretty much “life” in its general form.

IMG-20160504-WA0009IMG-20160501-WA0006IMG-20160501-WA0013It was Easter for us Orthodox folks here. While my Sis and Mom were visiting the Nephew in The Hague dancing on the dunes of Holland, I was busy doing the traditional thing on Aegina Island. The highlight being BBQ- ing a lamb! Not for the light hearted… a vegetarians nightmare! But having 6 days off work was sweet! Plus I boarded a ferry boat. The first time in 4 years since I bought Zoot Allures. Treason!!

But the days have gone by, it’s May and soon it’ll be June and I gotta get busy. Hence the panic button, hence shopping! Land lubbers beware!

DSC01570

Clockwise-ish from top left…. engine oil, engine oil filter, transmission oil filter, water pump impeller, 2 fuel filters, Stay Afloat, sikaflex sealant, a 2 part epoxy putty, D1 wood oil, pencil zincs, some washers and screws for the wind vane, a led light for my stern and various mooring parts. A little over 160 euros. Pa mal. I’ll answer any questions if you reeeeeally gotta know.

DSC01568DSC01572So I’ve been servicing the engine and just about done. It’s kinda weird not having any major overhauls this year. And hopefully we’ll keep it that way! I got my chains re-galvanized and hopefully that will keep up for a while too. Plus I plugged up the holes in the wind vane rudder so that’s pretty much ready to go.

DSC01567Aside from painting on a coat of antifoul paint, Zoot Allures is is pretty much “almost” ready for the season. One thing holding me back is the Iroko planks I’m waiting for for the bulkhead/ toerail. I’ve got some nasty feeling I’m forgetting something…. it’ll probably pop out of somewhere.

Naturally it’s that time of year where I’m getting slammed at work aswell. Lot of conferences and editing work. And I just found out I’m working the following weekend. So I guess I’ll just have to start running around like a be-headed chicken!

Cluck cluck…. squawk !!

Stay tuned,

Capt Pete

20160512_093152ps… if you know anyone coming over from Holland, you gotta tell them to bring you one of these bad boys. They are to die for! It’s got chocolate (yum), caramel (yum yum) and some sort of salt (w.t.f?).

Yeah, salt. Someone really baked must of thought of that one!

 

 

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Power Shoppin’!

  1. Christina dePian says:

    Sis, Mom AND Niece!!!… a handful for Nephew coped very well!
    ps we put our feet in the North Sea water brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Like

  2. I am right there with you on the lack of proper blogging! >_<
    We do what we can when we can though, yes? ^_^

    Like

  3. Pete, we boaters post what we can, when we can and sometimes just kick an empty can around the yard.
    Kinda of jealous of all your boat goodies, all I have is an oversized zinc.
    The lamb looks good too, but maybe a bit gory for some folks who eat meat disguised as manufactured food.
    I’ll be waiting for the splash.

    Like

    • Believe me, the yard I’m in is perfect for kicking cans around. I feel it’s all I’ve done all winter!
      The lamb was good… the unmentionables better (though done in a pan)! I’m ready for meat fasting again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

