Going South…It’s a Rap!

Bel giorno, my little cupcakes!

That’s it, going south! But unfortunately not towards the equator where the temperatures are warm and women wear bikinis (if any) on a 24hr basis. Like an onion or a fruit you forgot somewhere and it disgustingly reminded you of its neglect. It’s the weather, dummie!

outahereNow, I know there are many beautiful days to come, but the days are shorter and I’ve been working 6 day weeks…. it’s time to rap this baby up.

DSC01450DSC01451On Saturday afternoon, after a 12day stretch at work, I got down to the port and people were hauling out and rejoicing to get it over with. A sign of the time.  We also have a new kid on the block, Giannis (and son) , who is one hell of a funny guy and likes his scotch…. gonna be an interesting winter in the yard.

So… Saturday I had my last night on the mooring. Sunday, a morning swim, untied the lines and went for a short sail, and it was sweet with 15knots of wind. I tied up in the port and spent most of the day helping out Ulbe and Carla prep Pyrrha for the winter (they left Monday), removing and folding sails, going to bbq party, and naturally prepping ol’ Zoot.

DSC01452DSC01453Monday, I blasted out from work early, did my last preps (removing the boom, photovoltaics etc) and 5pm the crane came. The procedure…. pretty much the same as the other years. De-masting, fastening, lifting, having a few heart attacks when the straps tighten, DSC01454DSC01455securing on the flat bed, transport and eventually plopping Zoot Allures on the terra firma. I could go on and on with vivid details but this has been my forth season and it’s been thoroughly documented in the past. So DSC01457DSC01458DSC01459I’ll just throw up whatever pics I managed to take for the sake of the archive. It about a 2 hour process and by the time it was over, it was 7pm and pretty dark. DSC01461DSC_0306DSC01460I did my best to tidy up but my body and soul was spent. So I did the minimal and had a beer! Then I had a few raki pops with Alex Kostas and Paula to “celebrate” the fact that I’m back!  On my way home I had one helluva bad ass souvlaki, got pulled over by the cops, made them feel guilty for interrupting my dinner, was told off for eating and driving (phew, no breath test!), got home….. and slept like a baby.

And that pretty much raps up season 4 of the “exciting” adventures of Zoot Allures. The compartment in front of you contains barf bags.

Stay tuned, high and dry,

Capt Pete.

ps…. My body is weary tired and spent! click for definition or listen to Bernie!

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going South…It’s a Rap!

  1. It’s that time of year when moored boats migrate to land. At least you don’t have to worry about the weather anymore. Nice pics, good view of her bottom!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

