Woodin’ Voodin’

Good morning!

Don’t you wake up some days in a confused state? If not, I thought the title of this post might help.

“Every morning, Greggery drives his little red Volkswagen to the ugly part of town where they keep the government buildings.

Voodn, voodn!
Boy it’s so hard to find a place to park around here!”

(from “The Adventures of Greggery Peccary“)

But since Zoot Allures is a sailboat and not a little red Volkswagen, lets get on with it. Which I’ve been trying to do but have no time. I only managed to get down on Saturday and attacked the cockpit wood. I sanded it all down with the same technique. (40 then 80 grit with the orbital and mouse sander). That WoodSkin stuff could just as well have been varnish. There was so much wood dust I’m surprised there is any wood left! I was covered head to toe and so was the entire cockpit. It just makes me sad seeing so much wood going to waist. Never again. It took half an hour just to hose and clean the cockpit…. and myself (and I took my first of the year cockpit shower….brrr!). Naturally there are no pictures…. otherwise there would be no camera!

After letting it dry in the sun and having lunch with my neighboring retired geezers (who made a mean steak!), I had fun laying on 3 coats of Owatrol D1.

DSC01336

DSC01335DSC01332The Iroko loves that stuff and theoretically I’ll never half to sand again. If so, I’ll sell ol’ Zoot and buy a tupperware!

Another nice note is that the tiller bracket came in and I gave it a dry fit.

DSC01334

DSC01331DSC01330And if Kostas didn’t come by I wouldn’t have any idea how I look with a tiller and a mustache! Why the “‘stache”? Well, I went to check out a gig last week and 98% of the men (who god knows weren’t really men) think that Leonidas is still recruiting the 300. Jeeeez! So the first thing I did when I got home was to to shave it off and my shaving thing ran out of batteries! The chicks seem to like it soooooooo………

Stay tuned

Capt. Pete

ps…. Damn you Greggery! I’m one of those “slowly aging very hip young people”! Since it’s my birthday (why, thank you very much), I’ll leave you with this.  It’s a long composition and the video isn’t very good…. but I dare you!

“…..Because now at last,
Greggery Peccary’s exciting new invention had made it possible for everyone to find out
How old they were!

What hath God wrought?

Unfortunately, there were some people who simply did not wish to know!”

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Woodin’ Voodin’

  1. If it’s your birthday, Happy Birthday!! Without the beard you look 10 years younger. If you shaved the moose-stash you’d probably look 30 again.
    Those close-up shots of the wood is like seeing skin with the dermatologist’s microscopic camera, scary stuff.
    I want to hear that Zoot splash on film.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks my friend. Due to public opinion, my mouse will be stashing for a little bit longer.
      Yeah, that pic reviles much more than the eye can see. I was pretty shocked as well. What we can’t see wont hurt us. And the way my eyes are going… that’s a good thing!

      Like

  2. hanna says:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0IDy5GlUuf8 >
    this is our birthday present dear birthday bab!
    love & hugs the HuGs

    Like

  3. hanna says:

    … that´s right! … so here a little less time consuming extra present:
    Steins;Gate (2011 TV Series)
    Episode: Being Meltdown (2011)
    It feels like time is passing so quickly. Damn you, Einstein! The passage of time depends entirely on where you’re standing. Relativity Theory… it’s so romantic. But it’s just so tragic too.
    🙂 H u G

    Like

  4. Panayis says:

    Happy Birthday Cuz, hope it is not too late..
    About the stache, I don’t think so…You look like a combination of Tom Selleck (good but passee) and George Papandreou (Ouch!!!) so maybe you should get new batteries for your shaving thing… Panayis

    Like

    • Thanks Cuz. It’s never too late.
      I must say your stash comments are a bit appalling (ouch ouch ouch)! But you got me thinking. Even Paula (Kostas wife) said it was “Village People”!! Now that it’s getting hot and with all the sweat and boat prep… it’s days are numbered!
      Kisses to all of you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

