Wooden Boat Building

OOhhh! Isn’t this interesting? Well, don’t hold your breath… ’cause I don’t know anything about it. So don’t expect much out of this post, just click on some pics to enlarge.

DSC01200Onward with some rambling. The first thing I did on my weekday off, I woke up. (Then I went downtown to look for a …. anyone remember this?). But I woke up at 4am soaking in my sweat. I had see a bunch of nightmares (probably from a big bowl of broccoli I ate at 10pm), but the one that stood out was that Zoot Allures had sunk… in the yard!!! W.T.F!!! Anyhoo, later on I went down to the yard and gasped! Something was totally different! After 5 seconds my heart jumped back down to where it’s supposed to be and I realized that all was good. That neighboring old rotting yacht which had been cramping my style was gone. WhooHoo!

Then Kostas and I went for a ride. We went by the machine shop to check out the progress on my tiller parts. Well, the progress was null! (s.o.b!). So then we went for a visit to see the dude who is helping Kostas out with his project. He has built his own boat, his first one. Well, it came out a bit small, approx. 5.5meters and weighs 3.5 tons. Hmmm, whatever, it still is a beaut!

DSC01202DSC01206DSC01204DSC01203 DSC01205I really don’t know what to write about this. It’s obvious that alot of work and tender loving care has been put into it. Where people find the time is a mystery to me. I can’t wait to see it afloat!

DSC01213 DSC01212 DSC01211 DSC01210I would luv to build one. Of course I’d start out making a stitch- and-glue sailing dinghy. Very straight forward design and simple. Looking at the designs for Kostas’ boat make my head spin! If I had the time, a.k.a. the money, it would be really cool to take an apprenticeship. But that ain’t gonna happen any time soon. Plus… I already have a boat 🙂  and can barely keep up with the minimal (comparatively) woodwork!  So hanging out watching others do it shall suffice and I’m good with that. I remember a while back when I made my switch from DSC01207mechanical engineering to audio engineering. I walked into a recording studio and said “now this is an office! Screw the drawing table and floppy clean-rooms!” Studios don’t seem sexy/appealing enough for me anymore. Getting my hands dirty and “bending it” like these dudes seems where it’s at! Of course I’d fag out with my first splinter but that’s just how I’m feeling right now. What can I say… I’m a boat bitch!

Stay tuned

Capt Pete

ps… can anyone tell I’m slacking at work right now?? Oops!

pss… that guys rudder is bigger that Zoot Allures! That’s what they call a “barn-door”!

psss and s….. I’m working all through this weekend so there won’t be much here for a while. D’oh!

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wooden Boat Building

  1. Wow, one look at that wooden boat and HEY, I’d kill to have that beauty for local sailing or even short cruises – it’s a masterpiece, that guy is an artist…but I’d have to retire to maintain the varnish!!

    Like

  2. Jarle B says:

    Wooden boats are great! We had a Norwegian 1973 “snekke” (boat with two pointy ends) called “tilde”.

    http://barx.org/galleri/rom/tilde/

    For various reasons we had to adopt it away. I miss it, especially now that spring is here again…

    Like

Leave a Reply

