Tiller Tranny Mayhem

Ho hum….

Another mundane week of a lack of progress. It’s not aaaaall that bad but it feels like the weeks are going by and the progress on these projects are dragging.

DSC01134DSC01133Last Saturday on my way to Zoot Allures, I went by the machine shop and picked up my shinny new pieces of hardware for the tiller gig. The picture is just a layout and not how and where the installation’s gonna be. I’ll dedicate a post for that. You know…. a -rama thing. The weather was sweet and when I got to the yard I found Kostas working on his wooden sailboat project. It’s taking shape!

DSC01131DSC01130We sat in the shade chatting and a friend of his drops by and joins us, sipping raki. He knew alot about building wooden boats. Long story short, this dude is Vangelis Rinas, a world known artist and it was quite humbling to make his acquaintance. Especially the fact that he loved Zoot Allures and said it’s the perfect boat and that I’ll never need an other one.  🙂 That’s what I love about this whole “messing with boats” thang… you meet so many iiiiiinteresting people!

So Saturday went awash. Hey! I do need a day off, eh! (the real day job has been ridiculous). Sunday rained all day so I didn’t find it prudent to start drilling holes in the cockpit combing for a tiller dry fit. So I messed around with other stuff. Like re-installing the manual bilge pump, which for natural boat-slaving reasons, took several hours and quite a few pulled muscles. Word of advise… heat the hell out of your hoses with a heat gun to make your life easier! I have to remember to give it a test run with a bucket of water in the bilge and not, eg, when if I’m sinking!

DSC01137DSC01135Monday was a holiday, Clean Monday, and I spent it visiting friends, one being my buddy Capt Argiris  and his wife Sue from N. Orleans, who I met on a tanker gig years ago. I’m not going to get into details… pretty much ate and drank from noon to midnight! Hence the mayhem. And no, we didn’t fly a kite (it rained all day). But we were high as one!

DSC01138DSC01140Wednesday my UPS parcel came from England with the tranny parts. I opened it up at work and low and behold…. wrong freakin’ part! I’m awaiting its replacement as I’m writing this.

Thus end another slow week

Stay (yawn) tuned,

Capt Pete

ps… if the gasket set and oil seals are incorrect, I’ll screeeeam!

pss…. it’s pouring hail! I kinda doubt UPS is coming any time soon….

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiller Tranny Mayhem

  1. horaciomateus says:

    Nothing like the look of freshly machined stainless parts. See, I’m not the only one who believes Zoot is perfect. Man, I used to know some good professional painters, Vangelis is incredible. Damn spare parts mix-up and, lastly, at the get-together you all look like you been sniffing too much life!!! Life is good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

