Tranny-orama #1

It’s “-orama” time ….again! This will be a quicky though. Not the “-orama”, just this post due to the fact that I’m a bit pressed for time (=working too much).

DSC00996SO lets cut through the chase. The TMP MK4 12000 series hydraulic transmission (the tranny for short) has raw water bleeding into the oil. Time to yank it out. On my past visits I’ve prepped enough to call Kostas over to do the “hard” stuff. Previously I had detached the shaft and coupling and it took me 2 hours to get the heat exchanger off last weekend! Spending 2 hours with your head “down there” gets  pretty nauseous.

DSC01000DSC00998This week has been a early riser week at work so Thursday I blasted down to ol’ Zoot by 4pm and got Kosta to do the dirty work. All I can say is that I’m in awe. The guy is a few pounds overweight but he IS a contortionist and his endurance cannot be surpassed. The tranny is attached to the bell house which has a pair of engine mounts, so the engine needs to be supported, plus the starter has to be disconnected yada yada yada…. I’ll just throw a bunch of pictures at y’all…..

Raising the engine before disengagement

DSC01002Resting the tranny in the bilge and hauling out after using blocks to support the engine

DSC01008Lowering off the boat, it was dark by then

DSC01013finally on the bench awaiting de-assembling

DSC01018and what Zoot Allures looks like now

DSC01022Yeah, I could have/should have taken more pics but I was pretty busy getting my hands dirty, literally. And it took less than 3 hours. It would have taken me 3 days… and an eternity! I’m telling you, C.K. (Captain Kostas) is the Man!!

Tomorrow Sunday I’ll go down again and tidy up (I left a mess?!). Then it’s another 6 day work week (just got off a 7 day-er). I’m hoping to get this saga-orama over with… so I can start another one!

Stay tuned

Capt Pete

ps… I can’t really think about anything to “ps” about. I’ve been getting up a 5:30am the past days, always in a daze and totally caffeined out! Plus I’m a social animal so… go figure.

pss…. but check this out! Sing it how it is , girl!

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tranny-orama #1

  1. That’s a bitchin’ big tranny – bell housing, oil filter, engine mounts and all. Reminds me of my solo transmission swap. My ZF12 is small and easy to replace…as in replaceable and not even worth fixing!
    It might be interesting to read about other sailor’s “oramas” but hopefully you won’t have any more trouble other than routine maintenance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I followed your replacement, and others, and my conclusion is everyone has a nice little tranny, easily removable and seems like a Lego toy compared to mine! which is over 50 kilos and a royal pain where the sun don’t shine. Narf!

      Like

  2. sryoder says:

    I’m always amazed at what owning a boat turns us into. Did you ever envision yourself removing and repairing a transmission? It’s all very insidious. It sneaks up on you. Next thing you know, you’re a mechanic and thinking nothing of it. Good luck with the repairs-o-rama.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

