Anchor Sailing

hyvää huomenta!

That’s “good morning” in Finnish. And speaking of Finnish, I think I’m almost finished…… paying too much attention to the weather man. This weekend’s forecast was so bad I cancelled all visiting dates and day cruises. Don’t get me wrong, the weather was funky.

DSC_0160On Friday I got down and ready-ed for the blow. The skies were outstanding yet threatening while I swam around diving on my mooring. After  sunset, I mozied to the port to hang with the “usual suspects”. It started to rain and the wind piped up to force 7. And after 30minutes it calmed down. And that was it!? I returned late to Zoot Allures and had a wonderfully peaceful night.

Next day….. was a beautiful day. I swam in the sun, read 150 pages, cooked, napped, and in the evening to port yada yada yada where the wind and rain repeated the same scenario.

DSC_0167DSC_0166But the highlight, if you could call it that, was the anchor sail I fabricated last spring out of an old genoa. I tried it out once at anchor but it was blowing too much and I was afraid of it contributing to dragging. Since my main sail is furled, the only thing I have to raise it is with the topping lift, so the boom has to be tied off the side. It makes Zoot Allures look broken!

DSC_0164DSC_0174And what is an anchor sail? When you are anchored, the boat has a tendency to sway left and right when the wind hits the bow. It can get ridiculous at times. What this sail does is straighten her out a bit. Mine needs some tweaking (like fastening clips to slide up the backstay) but all in all it helped a bit and looks salty!

DSC_0177DSC_0171Sunday the sun took a while to break through. By noon it began to blow, there was a annoying swell and by 3 I rapped it up and hit the land/port yada yada yada (gurgle gurgle gurgle).

And that’s about it

(why?) Stay tuned…

Capt Pete

ps…. can’t you tell I’m in my office and bored shitless!!

pss… sock season has arrived….d’oh!

 

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Anchor Sailing

  1. MARIEJEANNE DEPIAN says:

    lovely pictures. I hope this week end is better. Interesting about the anchor sail. Probably going to Nafplio tomorrow. Shall let you know. Love muzer

    Date: Tue, 30 Sep 2014 09:22:50 +0000 To: mariejeanne_d@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Zarinda says:

    Yes I found that Interesting too, not about the weather but the anchor sail!

    Like

  3. horaciomateus says:

    I find it all very interesting too, especially when I spent the weekend swamped in translations. Hey, shouldn’t the anchor sail head be attached to the backstay and the clew tied straight forward. Otherwise it looks real salty, captain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yeah, I could have passed the topping lift clip threw the backstay. Ideally I should have 3 or 4 clips in the luff for it to. The clew can be anywhere, but ideally centered… and totally in the way! Unless I raise it alot higher. Now stop translating over the weekend!

      Like

  4. Christina dePian says:

    from Ermoupolis, Syros…. reading your blog, feeling amused…!

    Like

  5. sryoder says:

    Our first boat was a little 23′ yawl. She really looked salty at anchor with her mizzen sheeted in tight amidships. Kept us pointed into the wind quite nicely, too.

    I hear ya about sock weather. We’re in Montana right now and it’s definitely sock weather here. Yikes! Need to get south.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

