She…

Hey!

What did you expect?

IMG_5668

Why hand steer when you’ve got feet?

I had a first time visitor last Saturday on Zoot Allures. She has been an inspiration for me for over 30 years. She has unbelievable endurance. She has kept me going when I was ready to quit. She is the reason I’m a man. She is the one who pushed me to acquire and pursue a dream. She is the reason for Zoot Allures and all of you reading this. She loved ol’ Zoot. She was able to totally relax aboard. She said how proud she was of me.  She will always be my little girl. She……………..

I could go on and on but that would be too “mushy”. But it does feel great to have someone in your life, in you soul, that has defined were you are at in this present time. Physically and mentally. Saturday was a good day!

And since “She” is on my mind and this is a sailboat blog, here’s a quote I found in one of my favorite blogs I’m following.

Why Is a Ship Called a ‘She’?
A ship is called a ‘she’ because there is always a great deal of bustle around her; there is usually a gang of men about; she has a waist and stays; it takes a lot of paint to keep her good looking; it is not the initial expense that breaks you, it is the upkeep; she can be all decked out; it takes an experienced man to handle her correctly; and without a man at the helm, she is absolutely un-controllable; she shows her topsides, hides her bottom and, when coming into port, always heads for the buoys. – Robert Young

Well f-ing put!

IMG_5563

Sunday was a “soul day” for myself and Zoot Allures. So I went……….. sailing.

Stay tuned

Capt. Pete

ps… photographs courtesy of Carla and Ulbe, taken from Ikaria.

pss… forgot to mention she has always been and still is beautiful in every way.

 

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to She…

  1. horaciomateus says:

    Wow, what a post. Remember Costelo’s first album “Watching the Detectives?” What a change.
    Anyway, you just messed with my mind because my first close encounter with my “She” happened while listening to “Watching the Detectives” and damn it all, Costelo should have been singing “She” because maybe this egocentric university punk (me) might have had seen the light.
    I’ll stop here because your blog is not a confessional for readers.
    Damn, I just lost all my appetite to work.

    Like

    • Screw work!
      A long time ago in the states, a dentist lade the chair all the way back and I was looking at the ceiling. There was a poster of a polar bear leaning on some ice hill with the quote” every time I feel like working, I lie down until the feeling goes away”
      Confess all you like, my fellow punk slave!

      Like

  2. Zarinda says:

    She is taking up all my attention and all I have done so far is give her a face-lift.

    Like

  3. Tate says:

    Boats are like women; The rigging costs more than the hull.

    Like

  4. Vince says:

    Always entertaining reading your posts.Too bad we couldn’t get together while I was there. Oh wel…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

