What Mixes with Water?

Don’t you hate a post that questions you?

So, water mixes well with…

the sea

the sky

Zoot Allures and me

But it doesn’t mix with oil!

Back up. Well, I’m back on the bread line but I’m not letting that keep me away from ol’ Zoot. Plus now it’s time for sharing. This past weekend was great fun. I had 2 lady friends aboard and my buddy boats (Alex and Kostas & Co.) also came to hang in Kalo Gialo. And we all had a fine time. Even Paula made me one of her “bad ass” cups of coffee…. it had been a long time. But the best part was the weather. It was wonderfully crappy! First sunny, then cloudy, then it rained,DSC00945DSC00947 some times lightly, sometime heavily. Sunny, cloudy, sunny etc. The sky was amazing. The best part was the water. After it rained for an hour, the wind died, the sun came out and the sea was out of this world. The colour and the quality of the water was unbelievable!  I just dived in and swam for an hour. No camera, not even my mask and snorkel(!) It was …. well, I have no way to describe it. Bliss. And the sky was an ongoing canvas of colours and excitement. Even the moon greeted us in the evening. And that’s how the weekend went.

DSC00956

And now the moment some of you have been waiting for. My transmission has a leak and cooling sea water in entering the oil and emulsifying!! And it’s been going on for 3 months! This has been a thorn in my side, a knot in my stomach all summer. And it’s going to be a huge pain DSC_0141in the ass to fix!DSC_0138 Oil is to be “blondish” when new and the get black. Mine looks like cream custard just after half an hour of engine time! Ok, it cant be too bad. I pretty much extract as much as I put in (750ml), but it has been nerve racking, annoying and frankly, quite boring changing the oil after each passage. Yes, I’ve changed it more than 10 times and have gotten real good at it without spilling a drop! The good thing is that it got me home after 80 engine hours. Hopefully it’ll last a bit more ’till I haul out and have a lovely grease-monkey winter!

And on that note, I’ll leave you with this

GOPR0299_20140911-14101629Bizzarallures!

Stay tuned,

Capt Pete

ps…. Zoot Allures is so cleeeeaaan from the rain! And I am reluctant to go anywhere so to not mess her up with stinky mooring lines. But that’s silly. So this weekend, goin’ sailing! (methinkith)

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Mixes with Water?

  1. horaciomateus says:

    Not only have your sailing (cruising) skills improved, but your writing skills are…on second thought, I think your early posts were written in a “flip-flop” style on purpose.
    That picture of the boat bottom and top is amazing!!
    The water in the tranny is not so cool. Is the water leaking in from the tranny oil cooler?

    Like

    • Yes (I assume) it’s from the oil cooler. I think it’s just a chamber and the wall has cracked or a failed flange. If I use the engine with rpm’s, I extract the same amount of oil I put in. But if the engines’ been idling alot, I extract about 50ml more (probably due to less oil pressure). The problem is it’s gonna be a bitch to haul out, probably with the bell house and probably the whole dang engine! D’oh!
      I love that shot too. It’s a frame from a gopro vid I shot in Ydra. (gotta edit and get the vids up!)
      Plus I take notice when you comment on my writing skills…. whadaya mean flip flop??

      Like

      • horaciomateus says:

        Early posts were in a “flip flop” writing style…you know, like a laid-back dude walking along the beach promenade in his flips flops not giving a damn about the formalities of life.
        You still don’t give a damn, but now you’re wearing deck shoes and the writing is more stylish. That-sa whad-I-mean.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Stylish? Gee thanks, I’ll take that as a compliment (but I wear crocs, if yaknowadamean)

        Like

  2. sryoder says:

    Diesel engines and transmissions! Ah, the simplicity of life on a sailboat.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ilias says:

    Off the top of my head i can think of whiskey.spaghetti coffee,tea and chamomile my salty foreign friend………..duh

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

