Rough times in Ikaria

Sounds strange but… let me give you photo reportage
I was supposed to start heading back Monday closer to mainland Greece (opposed to Turkey) but Zoot Allures was hijacked by Dutch pirates (Ulbe and Carla) and hauled my butt to the old pirate island of Fournous.

image

And we anchored in a bay of an ancient marble quarry

image

image

I had to do some diving in some ridiculously blue waters to check the anchor, they spared me the ordeal of going ashore to collect rocks. After that we went to an other bay, tied up and went for lunch. The port was riddled by fishing boats

image

image

We had to treck about 200 meters of a desert

image

Walk another 50 meters on a cement road and then climb stairs full of sirens

image

And then they threw seafood at me

image

We fought back but more kept comming

image

Fight, fight, fight!

image

Just when I thought we won the battle

image

They tried to poison me

image

It was time to head back and they arranged the winds to be right on my nose

image

A rough day indeed. I thought it was over but the next morning I had to wake up to this

image

Then went ashore to fill a jerry can of water

image

But I was captured by the king and queen of Faros beach

image

And they made me eat more sea monsters, vegetable imam and salade and they stole my wine

image

But at the end of it I managed to get back home unscathed

image

Tomorrow Thursday after 16 days I am escaping this wretched part of the world
Stay tuned
Capt Pete
Ps….. getting back to more civilised islands is gonna suck. First stop Naxos or Mykonos,  then Siros to pick up my sis and Panos the sea dog and then head down to Nafplio via Kythos, Spetses etc. But then again, who knows…..

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rough times in Ikaria

  1. you’ve found freedom??

    Like

  2. Helen Argyropoulos says:

    Sounds absolutely terrifying…!! Glad you managed to escape relatively unscathed!

    Like

  3. sryoder says:

    All that food sounds SO good even though it’s only 7 AM here.

    Like

  4. You poor thing – being made to eat all of that delicious food! They sound like horrible people šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, they where ungodly fiendish! Bytheway Ellen, I’ve sailed off from lobster land and arrived in Nafplio yesterday. My connections have been terrible but by Monday I’ll be able to catch up on the Cynical Sailor!

      Like

Leave a Reply

