Ikaria Vegetation

Greetings from Ikaria!
The title of his post may have you confused. The only vegetable around is me. I’ve been here over 10 days and I can’t say I’ve done much. The schedule is something like this. Get up 9-10am, take swim in lovely waters for an anchor check, dingy to the beach, hit the lovely cafe/bar/restaurant and have an omelette galore and fredo espresso coffee. Spend several hours with Ulbe and Carla gazing out to the bay, back to ol’ Zoot for a swim, nap, another anchor check/swim, back out to the beach to the same bar for dinner, asleep by midnight. Rough times!!

image

This place is truly amazing. No other yachts visit, no noisy clubs or day trippers, the crowds cover 4 generations… pretty much all you hear are children playing, conversation, Johnny Cash and old hippie music and the occasional fishing boat diesel going thumpa thumpa thumpa.

Ok, there are other things going on. One day Kostas and Ulbe made a little trailer for an old avon rib to get it down to the beach

image

Then the whole gang got a ride to a beautiful little beach at the very east tip of Ikaria, Agios Georgeos, overlooked by a fort from 500bc

image

image

image

image

image

Hmmm…. other rough activities were helping Kostas fix his genoa furling system.
Duh…. what else. Of course the usual lugging jerry cans of water etc. I’m telling you, it’s really rough!
Winds…. this is Ikaria, the place where the winds blew off the feathers off Ikaros wings. Long story short…they average around 10knots with 25knot gusts which last…. a freaking hour! I’m sleeping better now. In the beginning I would freak a bit but I’ve anchored in 2.5meters on a sandy bottom with 50meters of chain. Hows that for a safe scope! Plus I have 2 snubbers. Sweet dreams. We did have couple of days with southerlies so I re-anchored, but yesterday the north winds were back so I re-anchored  again.  Busy busy busy. (yawn).
Tomorrow we are planning on a day sail to Fournos island. My weather window is looking good for Sunday or Monday to start another long haul to Nafplio with about 4-5 stops
Stay tuned
Capt Pete
Ps…. should I stay or should I go……?

image

Check out the size of the book Ulbe read in less that a week!
Pss I gotta take more pictures, as usual

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ikaria Vegetation

  1. zakis says:

    Living the dream, Big Bro, living the dream.

    Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Idyllic, I’m feeling very mellow just looking at the pics – average lifespan of over 90 on the island, you should be good for four decades!

    Like

    • Ah, you have done your homework I see! Yes Ikaria has a record of people living a long time. There is a new documentary about it called Little Land. I’ll try to turn you on to it when I get back (?).

      Like

  3. Vegetating on a long scope in Paradise. Man you’re killing us. Tell us the coffee was too cold, the beer too warm…dude, I’m still working like an idiot and Jakatar is at the marina chained to the dock lines.
    And once upon a time you contemplated selling Zoot!!! Slave on and on.

    Like

    • The fredo is ice cold and so are the beers. Sorry but it took me 2 years to get here. Plus sorry for your delay. Speaking of slaves, I haven’t revieled yet my milky tranny oil… saving that for when I’m drifting to … Egypt? Plus the ex-squeez is dating a lawyer and my salery is getting halved. I should just stay here!

      Like

  4. quiet, unlike the Ionian

    Like

Leave a Reply

