The Eagle has Landed

Hey ya!
I last posted from Finika in Siros. The plan was to head to Naxos, meet up with Alex and Kostas and head out to Ikaria.  And as always when cruising, plans change. Alex would arrive Saturday and Kostas wasn’t gonna make it due to being swapped in the boatyard back home. So to waist some time, I sail over to Kolimbithres in Paros for a night. I hadn’t been there in over 30 years! Rather shocking view with all the development and mega yachts (ew!). But it was an awesome sail down there. I actually sailed 4 of the 5 hours it took to get there.

image

image

image

image

The odd thing was that that night it blew from the south.  It was a bit off a sleepless night and it seems it was the same for any one else in a cove protected from northerlies. Apparently I’ve got my anchoring technique down.
Next day Saturday it was a hop skip jump to Naxos.

image

That evening I met up with Alex and got off the boat for the first time in 5 days. Which was a mistake.  The port of Naxos on a Saturday night is a freak show! But the next day I dinghyed in for some produce a fruit… it’s a beautiful town.
Since we had a day to kill before making the crossing to Ikaria,  we decided to kill 10 out of the 60 miles and went to the north east tip of Naxos, Appollonos bay. A very nice, small and quiet (!) little place!

image

image

Next morning up and early we head out to cross the dreaded Ikarion Pelagos. It wasn’t dreadful at all. No waves, not much wind either. Motorsailed the whole way. But once we approached the island for the last 20 mile leg, the breeze off the mountains was nice and stiff…. at some point Zoot Allures was flying at 7knots! The crossing took 8 hours which impressed everyone.

image

So hear I am, on the southeast tip of Ikaria, one of the most beautiful places forgotten by time and I soon will forget my name!
Stay tuned
Capt. Pete
Ps….. aaaaaahhhhh

image

Pss….. obviously I’ve left out a lot of details but hey…. I’m vegging!

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Eagle has Landed

  1. horaciomateus says:

    You sure know how to make a sailor envious!!! I’m still on land for at least another week so I’ll read your posts until it’s my turn. 7 knots, that’s one fast motorsailer. That last picture is a killer, makes readers feel like pulling back a chair for a chilly one.

    Like

  2. Vince says:

    Agreed about the last picture. I’m going to get myself a nice cold beer and a fat cigar and imagine that I’m there instead of on my balcony. I am thoroughly jealous. Be there in about six weeks. Miss ya dude.

    Like

  3. Βίκη says:

    Γεια σου Πετράκο. Βρίσκεσαι σε ειδειλιακά μέρη, πανέμορφα. Καλή διασκέδαση!

    Like

  4. Zarinda says:

    I envy you. I am way behind on getting Zarinda into the water because in early May I used a heavy strimmer without a chest strap and did my back in, painful, slow healing process. But I learn something new every day ” Don’t use a heavy strimmer and swing side to side without your harness on” Enjoy Your Trip!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

