And I’m Off!

Yes, people,  Zoot Allures has sailed off on a 2 month journey… along with me of course. The main waypoints are Ikaria on the other side (east) of the Aegean sea, and Nafplio, back over the Aegean to east Peloponisos. Lots of stops on the way. And not in a straight line.

image

Plus I’m posting via my 7inch tab and xperia tethering phone. So……
Friday … rapped up work, closed the office, closed up my city pad and moved aboard Zoot Allures. It was blowing stink. By Sunday the winds were nice and went for a sail. All went well but just as I was arriving to my mooring, the Perkins started banging as if someone was whacking it with a hammer. Later trials revieled and air bubble in a cylinder, bubble gone, no more noise. Onwards we go!
After some last provisioning on Monday, Tuesday I sailed off. The first leg about 20 miles to Spathi, Kea. The first hour was great, good sailing, but then it died out. A good opportunity to try out my spinnaker for the first time. That was fun for a while, but then the winds died completely so the iron jib got me to Spathi at around 6pm.

image

image

image

Wednesday I set out at noon on my second leg, 25miles to Finika in southwest Siros. Again, a combination of sailing, motoring, motorsailing. The seas are calm, the winds are light and I’m using too much diesel! Hey, but my beers are icey cold!!

image

image

Today I’m staying put for the day. Tomorrow I’m setting out for Naxos. The winds should be in my favour,  beam reach@15knots. The plan is to meet up with Alex and Kostas and sail out together witn s/v Kaisi over to Ikaria. A long haul but the forecasts are good, Zoot Allures is fit as a fiddle and so am I.
Stay tuned
Capt Pete

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And I’m Off!

  1. kiwi says:

    You’r gonna love Ikaria.. stay put there for a while and visit the mountains.. don’t stay on the boat!

    Like

  2. This is it…and it may become addictive. Anchorage hopping is like bar hopping. Fair winds.

    Like

  3. sryoder says:

    Glad to hear you’re out there enjoying the summer. Also, very glad to hear that the beer is cold because, without cold beer, well, I don’t even want to think about it.
    -Steve

    Like

    • Steve,I couldn’t imagine it either (after having 2 en route). Even keeps the food going! I should write something about the food. Mostly lentils or balsamic rice with fresh tomatoes, onion, cucumber, olive oil, rusks etc.
      Stay cool up north!

      Like

  4. We thought we would throw a little joy and happiness your way.

    We have traveled extensively using conventional methods and are inspired by other travelers and sailors to keep going.

    We are planning to start a sailing travel adventure in November and are busy prepping now. We hope to set sail soon.

    Mark and Cindy
    s/v Cream Puff
    http://www.creampuff.us

    Like

Leave a Reply

