Fog, Spies and Celebrities

Celebrity#1

I just found out that my favorite F.Z. “Mother” and piano player passed away last August. I think it was the day I had helicopters flying over me. All my heroes are passing 😦

Celebrity#2 My biggest blog commenter, author of Zen to Zero – The Naked Boat, Horacio, captain of S/V Jakatar, broke the 10,000 hit barrier on this blog. Cheers M8!!!

Saturday morning I awoke on Zoot Allures not knowing where I was. There was absolutely no movement at all. I jumped up, hustled out side to find everything soaking wet in a haze.

DSC00477DSC00476DSC00480It wasn’t until 10:30 the sun managed to burn though and create one heck of a beautiful day and  perfect sea … so perfect a spider built an awesome web on my stern rail. ‘Couldn’t shoot the web but got his breakfast. I Also did the dinghy bottom de-goo-ing thing with losta diving and snorkeling around.

Around lunch time I see a character with mask and snorkel swimming right next to ol’ Zoot taking pictures with an underwater camera. WTF… taking evidence of illegal moorings?? Breaking the ice, I ask him what camera he had.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He clears the snorkel from his mouth and says “geia sou, mastrora” Hey! It’s George, a good colleague from work who is into boats and photography, trying out a dinky little Olympus.  He was there with his wife who was swimming all over the place while he came aboard for a while. They went off for lunch later to a waterside fish tavern where he took some pics with his real camera.

DSC_0871

Here’s a “wet” picture collage of Zoot Allures and Kalo Gialo neighbors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Don’t forget to click to enlarge!

Sunday I spent most of the day ashore. Hung with Kostas abit at his house making arrangements for the haul out, and then lunch with the usual suspects. Vicky made “Jewish” cheese pies. Supposingly you put the flower in a pot of water and boil it to make the dough, Take egg size amounts out, fill with feta and pop ’em in the oven. Not bad, but no picture. I guess I’m not a photographer.

Capt Pete signing off

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ahrrr!

Oh yes… and stay tuned…

ps… We also made it on Google earth

ZA

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fog, Spies and Celebrities

  1. OK Pete,

    I have to ask, how many ladders to you have on Ol’ Zoots?

    I think I can count 3 in one photo.

    Jesse

    Like

    • Busted! Yes, it’s true, I’ve got 3 ladders and have been getting vented by many for being… whatever. Allow me to explain. Without a ladder there is no way to get aboard. Ladder#1 is a permanent mob ladder which I use but is a bit dangerous without a technique. Ladder#2 (doghouse window) was a new folding type with plastic steps which is crap and folds when you use it (!) and kept for a back up. Ladder#3 (primary for guests) is also folding and stronger but the plastic steps had deteriorated and I replaced them with wooden ones. Still abit short, still a work in progress.
      3 ladders and not one ideal. Go figure, still working on it! (lol)!

      Like

  2. Me, celebrity no. 2…maybe true any place where’s less than 3 people!
    The picture of Zoot with land in the background will surely get a lot of people daydreaming about having a boat in a beautiful bay.
    More than one ladder is a good idea. I once fell in the water holding the bottom part of my stainless ladder that broke at the hinges. Luckily the dinghy was floating, otherwise couldn’t get back aboard. Now imagine that happening miles offshore when diving to cut a rope from the propeller. Anything can and will sooner or later happen on a boat – keep your 3 ladders.

    Like

    • Thanks man, I’m gonna rub your comment in Kostas face who gave me grief about the ladders!
      I like that picture alot as well. The land backgrounds are two… one close by and the other waaaay back from the far side of the bay,

      Like

Leave a Reply

