What day IS it??

Hey guys, if you wanna see some sailing/boat stuff, it ain’t in this post.

Working every day makes you loose track. Last week I raked up 10IMG_0779 overtime hours Mon. thru Fri.,   plus 1.3 “days off” for Saturday and extra $$ for Sunday… almost a 70 hour week and back at it yesterday (Monday). With every post I try to find a song which represents my status quo. “Dazed and Confused” was all that came to mind.

Fantastic performance unfortunately slightly out of sync

And on top of it all, the Athens Concert Hall has some kinda government loan, so they’re putting us in the “single payroll” which means I’ll be making less than 1k euros a month…. a discussion for an other post non sailboat related. Yup, I’m getting screwed.

IMG_0784Plus AIMG_0788lexandras dad past away which was quite a bummer. He’s the one who gave me some old books and plates a while back.  Well now I have inherited the rest of the plates and bowls, a 2 inch thick cutting board, 2 big ass cutting knifes and a cleaver (I love slicing and dicing), small pressure cooker and a deep frying pan, another 22 meter halyard with pulleys and cleat, a butane flint light, and 2 great books (The Sea Scout Manual from the Boy Scouts of America and ABC for Yachtsman). Don’t ask how I hauled it all on my motorcycle! Thanks Mr. Michalis, you’ll be missed.

I didIMG_0781 go to Zoot Allures Sunday morning before work. It had rained alot last week and I was worried but all was well. I emptied the chain off (pending finalizing windlass installation) and hauled a car load of v-birth cushions and pillows back home (too humid and would be a shame since they’re new). My city dwelling is getting ridiculous and there’s more to come. “Your place or mine”  shall not be used, if at all needed.

Very un-likely

Big conference (Echo Media somethingorather) at work this week. 7:30 to 18:00 shifts. And I thought I was an editor and not a P.A. guy…  yeeeesh

Stay tuned and warm (yes it gets cold in Greece!)

Capt Pete

ps… I love Greece, but

“Every day I work so hard, bringin’ home my hard earned pay
Try to love you baby, but you push me away.
Don’t know where you’re goin’, only know just where you’ve been,
Sweet little baby, I want you again.”

pss… and my 2 cents…. “Sweet little baby, why fuck me again?!?”

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What day IS it??

  1. Ouch! Greece, like Portugal, is no “stairway to heaven” and, man, your apartment is beginning to look like a sailboat…pretty soon you’ll have fenders hanging on the façade and a dodger at the front door.
    Too bad about Alexandra’s dad, hope he had a good life. It ain’t easy having a good life before it’s too late.

    Like

  2. horaciomateus says:

    Pete,
    Went out to the boat today and measured the Origo alcohol canisters. They’re 22 cm in diameter and 6 cm high.
    Hope that helps.

    Like

    • Thanks alot Horacio. Those are pretty big, eh. I was thinking just “crying once” and buying a new Origo 3000. Seems to be the real deal with the easiest and safest installation. 400euro here but on amazon.de they go for 150. I’m just afraid they might send me a turd with all the crap going on!
      Thanks again. The galley saga shall soon be updated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

