Zoot Allures=1. Capt Pete=0!

An interesting week. I would have liked to have done a better media job, but I guess you all know I’m not that good at it. So I guess I’ll just have to blab it all out.

So Wednesday I headed out to ol’ Zoot to see how she/he (?) weathered a lot of rain from the previous days. Here’s how I get there I walk down the path and get to the deflatables and pull them in from their mooring with an “Italian” cloths line (this is Alex’s setup and I’m so grateful for his sharing) It apparently rained alot, so I took mine out on the beach to drain In ol’ Zoot I sponged out a couple of liters out of the v-berth bilge which had entered from the chain locker. I also lifted the the bedding and storage space to air out. Gotta figure something out here. The stored extra sails were kinda damp, not a good thing.

Later on, I had dinner with Vicky and found Kosta at the club on my way home (way to humid to stay over+ a busy day Thursday). There’s a 2 day race this weekend to Karistos (approx 20nmiles east). He proposed we use Zoot Allures as a comity boat. That meant having Kostas with me for 2 days and he can see what and how Zoot does the voodoo she does so well. Of course I agreed and cancelled going to a big family getogether on Saturday (which was a sacrifice… one of my cousins was in from England and I really wanted to see him… Hey John!)

Thursday afternoon… at the port I helped prep that old Tahiti Ketch for it’s haul out the next morning. Friday morning was a beautiful day but I couldn’t hang long enough due to work and missed the crane. When I got back I found Kosta up some other guys mast and by the time he was done, it was dark so we cancelled bringing ol’ Zoot to the harbor and set up a rendezvous at 8am for me to pick him up.

The weekend forecast. 20knot southern winds gusting to 30. Early Saturday morning was beauuutiful but out east was looking nasty. As I was taking the shot, I hear a voice saying “take my picture too”. It was Alex and he’s coming to Karistos as well for the fun of it!

So, 8am… picked up Kostas from the dock (yikes, I hate docking!), we dumped a huge balloon in the middle of the port and head on out to Karistos in order to clock the racers. The ride over was smooth, we motored, we sailed and Kosta had a chance to “hear” the spinning prop. We also tried its max power and the Perkins only got up to 3200rpm concluding that the prop is “weak” and should be tuned and maybe replaced with a folding one. Entering the Karisto port we dumped my water jerry jug with my dinghy anchor for a finishing buoy. After tying up at dock, Kostas went out to clock the racers and I helped Alex side tie next to me. After every one had sailed in safely, Kostas and I indulged Alex’s hospitality of rice and corn and salads and munchies and we went through 4 bottles of wine!! Then we went out to dinner (ok, we took breaks in-between and hung out a bit with the other boat-ies. By then the southerlies had really piped up, clouds rolled by and the mountain behind us seemed like hell was breaking loose. “Winter without the cold” was the expression we all used. Here’s a pic of ol’Zoot and how the old and new (70’s) architecture blends in in Karistos (idiots!!)(God, I’m blabbing)

Sunday, 10am. After all the racers exited the harbor, so did we to “honk” the  race. That’s when my heart sank. The waves where over 2 meters high!!!. After “honking” and picking up my water jug (after 3 tries with Kostas driving!)  we headed back for a 4 hour journey plowing in waves “this high”!  Not much to say and no documentation…. I was absolutely useless feeling sick and humiliated in front of my main dude. WTF! How am I gonna “sail the 7 seas” alone one day?!?! But the nice thing is that ol’ Zoot Allures took it like a champ!

Back in Porto Rafti, we docked in the harbor (lots of southerlies this week) and Alex and I went for sardines, anchovies, beets and garlic “skordalia” and a much deserved beer.
Then, back home and “kapoot”!

Stay tuned….

to voyages of  sea-sick sailor Pete (Captain “tis kakias oras” or “tis poutsas” as we say in Greek)!

ps.. I’m telling you, those f%$#@ waves where THIS HIGH!!! Or was it the 4 bottles of wine talking….

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Zoot Allures=1. Capt Pete=0!

  1. zakis says:

    Capt’ Pete just broke his cherry! Congrats!

    Like

  2. zakis says:

    Reblogged this on Σταγονες της Στυγος and commented:
    Εδώ και μήνες ο αδελφός Πέτρος ιστιοπλοεί και μπλογκάρει. Αξίζει να τον διαβάσετε. Έχει εξαιρετική πέννα ο αφιλότιμος.

    Like

  3. Great post. I’m still laughing, not because of the post, but because I Googled “Italian cloths line” plus some context words (boat, dinghy, etc.) to learn how to set one up and gues what? Got two results, one of which was Sailing Zoot Allures. Hahaha, talk about a boomarang hit.
    Don’t worry about the waves…they’ll get used to you not liking them and vise versa.

    Like

  4. Helen Argyropoulos says:

    …and you were in Karystos as was John Saturday evening!..silly billy (petey)

    Like

  5. I know the feeling, plus my legs were trembling like bamboo in the wind. I had the same question: how am I gonna go sailing ever. well gotta keep doing it and need to be a lot crazier than I already am.
    Cheers
    Luis ( Portuguese guy ) in Toronto

    Like

  6. Yup. It’s all part of the process.Persistence wins!

    Like

  7. Bryon Billado says:

    Great story! Once you get used to it, there is nothing like the feeling of pounding your way through some decent seas! So exhilerating! A nice long roll is better than a chop though….

    Like

  8. Capt John says:

    Dear Capt Pete, I have sailed in the Aegean with my kaiki (to and from Andros) and been between Andros-Kea repeatedly with high waves on the side (force 5-6 with stronger gusts). At the beginning I usually am dead worried (what if there is a machine failure, a fire, a bilge pump break down, a plank collapse etc) with trembling legs and bad stomach, then after the first 2 hours one gets used to the movement and the worry is what happening down below (glasses falling off, drawers opening etc), then after 4 hours (with the kaiki rocking 45 degrees from side to side and waves coming in every time from the both sides) one gets accustomed and doesnt give a sh.. about the inside or anything. You just ride the waves and hear the music (it helps to have something nice to hear, and I find that military music provides phsychological support !).

    Like

  9. Thanks for the info Capt. John. Military music would probably increase my stress level. Verdi sound more appropriate! We should do this together one day… but not with the “Garbis” (SW) winds!

    Like

  10. christina depian says:

    wow~!
    (by the way… kaput, i beleive is the way saxons spell it… great worrd in these circumstances!)
    sound good to me, capt Pete

    Like

  11. Thanks sis.
    Kapoot looked better under the circumstances

    Like

  12. vicky says:

    Την επόμενη φορά θέλουμε φωτό από τα γιγάντια κύματα.

    Like

Leave a Reply

