“Hook”in’

Yep, I’m livin’ on the hook (for those who don’t know, I’m living anchored out in the sea). Friday was the last work day until Sept.3 and that’s the way it’s gonna be. I just got off the boat today (Tuesday), drove into town to close up my land home, laundry, provisions and a few boat things (50meter rope for my stern anchor and a new Jabsco head (shit) pump.

All I can say is that it’s been glorious. Cousin G.S. gave me a bag of fresh figs and the dingy guy, Theodor a bag of tomatoes from his yard. Add a small can of tuna, mustard powder, rusks and olive oil and ouzo in my trusty cup … and I’m eating like a king! Still missing a few basics eg pepper!

What the sailing plan is… I don’t know. I’d like to get to Nafplio by the 15th to have some family fun and to Serifos where Percules is. It’s like a triangle with 100 n.mile sides. Getting to these places is alright but it means beating north to get back by months end. We got these northern winds called Meltemi which can last for days and can be rough with winds clocking over 25knts for days. Of course the best way is just to Island hop, which is fine for me. I just have a bit of lack of confidence in myself (due to lack of experience) and with ol’ Zoot, cause she’s old. And I’m not into “fixing my boat in exotic places” like most cruisers do. At least not this year.

So as always, stay tuned. I shall be posting from my i-phone, if I can keep it charged.

Capt Pete

ps… then again, who knows what I’ll do…

About Sailing Zoot Allures

A demoralized mechanical engineer/ bass player/ sound engineer/editor seeks Freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Hook”in’

  1. Dean Bachelor says:

    I would go with your last idea, just island hop, short easy days that let you set the hook early and NOT WORRY, in my years of boating I have found this to be the best. Keep it FUN

    Enjoy, Congrats, and still following from my fucking desk 🙂

    Dean

    Like

  2. I can sympathise with Dean because I’m also chained to the damn desk!! After 10 years of casting the lines at about this time of year.
    I also agree that you should muck about getting some experience this first year. Back down on the anchor to the hilt and give it lots of scope.
    What’s more, and I’ll say it again, as a “quasi boating virgin” living on the hook may not seem all that glamorous at first, but as your confidence grows, there’s no life like it…jeeesus, I don’t know how I’ll survive without my trip this year!!
    If anything breaks down just get drunk and the next morning whatever stopped working will seem insignificant compared to your hangover. It worked for Bukowski.
    Horacio

    Like

    • Ahhhh Bukowski…. Thanks, man, on the info!! sorry bout you and Dean and the desk thing. It would be great to cruise along together someday. It seems tomorrow I’m heading out solo. Cant wait for others anymore. Gotta face the fears.
      Gulp
      P

      Like

  3. hey captain~~ i keep an eye out, just in case i see zoot sailing into aegina’s kolona bay…. do you need a skipper next week? i know luis is interested. enjoy it all!!! sounds wonderful!!! kai kali orexi!!! will get you some pepper…. ~sis

    Like

Leave a Reply

